Declaration Explained

I wanted the General to be telepathic. Then have Nathan be the same way. However, that opened a whole can of worms – just how fantasy-like was this story going to be?

So then, how about body-language? But, there were words that I wanted conveyed. Nathan could then mouth the words so that others couldn’t hear him. Still, the risks were too great. The whole area was on camera and the security guards were bound to know how to lip read.

In the end it had to be telepathy. A fine mixture of body-language known only to the closest of comrades or enemies, emotions and intense concentration and perhaps the actual contact with the coffin itself. All I want to say is: this telepathy isn’t a two-way street for everyone, and it isn’t easy to attain nor master.

Ah yes – about that first line of interaction… When I was writing the end, I had stared at that line and groaned. I tried to think of alternatives, but I was so tired that nothing came to mind. Now I’m imagining that my non-fiction teacher, Rick, is reading that and shaking his head. Hopefully the General’s reaction will appease the readers who rolled their eyes.

No, they wouldn’t have a confrontation, but Nathan just had to spout out just a cliché line and refuse any other. Poor guy. I feel like I kicked a puppy.

About azhwi

An editing student, graduated Feb 2012. An avid fan of video games, fanfiction, anime, writing, and the serial comma.
Aside | This entry was posted in Man-Made Wings, Observations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

