Name calling

While I was writing Notebook meet netbook, I was flipping through the notebook. To my dismay, I discovered that I had originally decided that Gregori was to be a surname. I believe somewhere in my mad stack of papers, Nathan had a different surname as well.

I am just now realizing that the army characters refer to the General in two terms: General and Simon. At which I have to shake my head, because what army personnel addresses his highest superior on a first name basis? None.

I could beg and excuse the slip, saying that they had been out of the context of a traditional army for years and perhaps had even achieved a casual regard for one another, but Hendrick does not strike me as a casual soldier.

Looks like I’ll be doing some fast edits today.

[Edit 15 minutes later] Okay, less of a job than I thought. The posts so far have been a mad mix of nicknames, surnames and firsts, but I only had to change one instance – and that entry hadn’t even made it to posting yet.

I have resorted to colour-coding the entries in Word to keep track of the POVs. Gregori ended up being a bright sun-shine yellow.

About azhwi

An editing student, graduated Feb 2012. An avid fan of video games, fanfiction, anime, writing, and the serial comma.
Aside | This entry was posted in Man-Made Wings, Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

