Notebook meet netbook

When I started putting down notes for MMW in 2010, it was in Google Docs. I hardly remembered the details, but the idea had been revived in my mind, and I was determined to give it a try.

After that one burst of creativity, I ended up commandeering a notebook to scribble into. The notebook lived at my desk, occasionally travelling to the couch or the bedroom. Rarely did it make it out of the house.

Eventually, I bought a small notepad out of an Opus art supply store. Specifically chosen for its size, the nifty little thing fit perfectly into my purse. There I could jot down a few ideas down whenever I thought of them. It proved to be very handy.

Paper was all fine and good for notes – but the real meat of the writing was done on the computer. And when the stories were digital, if not complete, the urge to post online became too much of a temptation to ignore. So with sparkly eyes, I posted to two webspaces: Livejournal and Slow-Poke.

While that was going on, I also had been attending a local congregation of writers: a small group consisting of six to ten scribes at a time (They are the ones to poke the MMW idea into realization). This meant that not only was I posting my proposed-critique material to their webspace, but I was also printing multiple copies to hand out.

Looking back at the year as it had gone, I will proudly say that this is when my MMW characters really came into existence. At the same time I will also cringe and look askance at all the haphazard posting, printing, and scribbling, I’ve been doing across multiple medias. I will also shrug and ashamedly admit that Post-Trauma only bloomed into life in the last week of 2010. It’s only because I started posting P-T before the new year that saves it from being a 2011 baby.

Acquiring the little netbook was solely in the purpose of organizing my notes for MMW. School didn’t even factor into being a contributing reason. My notes, far and wide, had developed into such a catastrophe of clutter. I ended up forgetting where I had written a certain tidbit of information, even sometimes forgetting that I had it written in the first place.

My hope is that my notes will restrain themselves to the netbook and the notepad. I truly wish that those two can attain a healthy working relationship, because I will be copying the written notes into the netbook. The success of that is determined by the dedication of my efforts.

I should probably start with character profiles.

About azhwi

An editing student, graduated Feb 2012. An avid fan of video games, fanfiction, anime, writing, and the serial comma.
Aside | This entry was posted in Man-Made Wings, Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

