Stumbling delivery

I really need to work on my elevator pitch.

For those who do now know what that is, let me explain. An elevator pitch is a ten-15 second length description of a concept. Imagine you are attending a networking event and someone asks you (as she is walking out the door) what your latest project is. You want to give a clear, marketable description of your book, game, music, etc., because if you say it right, that someone may just think about your idea later. Hopefully, she’ll call you back and want to discuss it. (For God’s sake, keep business cards on you!)

Yesterday, my teacher, Roberta, called in a rather big magazine writer, Mark Leiren-Young. After the lecture and after the class, I stuck around. The poor guy was so nice; he stuck around for another seven minutes to hear me bumble through an explanation of my book idea.

Really… I gotta write a synopsis out.

In the end, Mark told me to just write it. He wasn’t sure what the current trends of science-fiction were, but in five years (my plan is a long one) no one could say what it would be anyway. Oh, and don’t bother to care what the publishers want. More and more authors are self-publishing through e-books and apparently it’s worth it. The book gets out there, the profits go to the authors, and people can read it. That’s the point right?

You don’t write a book to make a publisher rich that’s for sure.

Roberta did point out that I should probably look into a novel-writing course. Mark agreed – it would be good to learn structure.

Well cool. I’ll look into more classes after I’m done my program here, but in the meanwhile *eyes a stack of writing books* I have a lot of reading to do.

*eyes empty portfolio case* Homework first though.

About azhwi

An editing student, graduated Feb 2012. An avid fan of video games, fanfiction, anime, writing, and the serial comma.
Aside | This entry was posted in Man-Made Wings, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

