Challenge put to rest

I had a challenge for myself. To write a 100 words a day. Well, that’s over now. Has been for quite a few months. But now I’m back!

While the perfect drabbles were a challenge on their own to write, I’m letting myself expand past the 100 word limit, as the past few samples have shown. I do this because perfect drabbles are like hints of flavour; they have no real meat to them. They may have potency, but the reader’s immersion into the telling is gone before it has had a chance to establish itself.

An author’s goal is to suck a reader in and not allow them to see reality until purposefully let go. While drabbles read in a marathon can do that, when read at random the immersion is far from complete.

So though I may not be updating on a daily basis now, what I do post will at least be heftier than a five second read.

About azhwi

An editing student, graduated Feb 2012. An avid fan of video games, fanfiction, anime, writing, and the serial comma.
Aside | This entry was posted in Man-Made Wings, Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

