Back to Writing

Over the weekend, Tumblr ambushed me with a post that said, “If you’re a writer, stop everything! And add one sentence to your current ongoing story. Then continue on with your life. If this goes viral, you’ll have that novel finished by Tuesday.”

I got caught once – added a sentence. Then I did the dumb thing and linked my friend Ariel that same post. She then reblogged it on Tumblr. Which meant I saw it again, and so added another sentence. And then two more just to be safe. (Heh).

What that did to my brain though, was kick it. Because, I should be writing on a regular basis, not waiting for outside influences to knock me down and force me into it.

So. I broke open the library (which is still in boxes since the move in March) and dug out my reference books. I now have five books stacked on my desk, one of which is actively being read: The Nighttime Novelist, Fantasy and Science Fiction, Write that Book Already!, 20 Master Plots, and Character Traits. Once I get through the first three, if I think I still need help (and I likely will), I’m planning on ordering in a sixth book that focuses more on design, How to Write a Novel Using the Snowflake Method.

I’m not too worried about being out-of-pocket for that last book, it’s only $9 and it’ll take me a few months to get through the books I do have. I say months because the first book, Novelist, has charts and profile sheets that I’ll be filling out and playing around with. I’ve got two original ideas sitting in my head and one other story already written but not finished; I’m itching to take apart that last one and re-write it. It still needs so much filling out and filing down, and it’ll be so much work, but oh man, it’ll be glorious when I’m through with it.

Anyway. I’m not sure how much story writing I’ll be doing, but my Google docs are multiplying like plunnies (I’m so glad they don’t count towards quota)(oh who am I kidding, I’ve got 115gigs). I’ve got so much work ahead of me, and I couldn’t be happier (well, maybe when I have something finished, but you get the gist).

[Copied over from my Ever Rambling Blog]

About azhwi

An editing student, graduated Feb 2012. An avid fan of video games, fanfiction, anime, writing, and the serial comma.
This entry was posted in Azhrei, Dragon Ranch, Fiction, Man-Made Wings, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

